Ibeju Lekki Local Government Area

Official Website of Ibejulekki Local Government of Lagos State




The Ibeju-Lekki Local Government annual Spelling-Bee Preliminaries was held today Friday 15th October, 2021 at the Council Secretariat in Igando-Oloja.

In his opening address, the Executive Chairman, Hon. (Engr.) Abdullahi Sesan Olowa applauded the Spelling-Bee initiative and commended the Lagos State Ministry of Education for doggedly following this tradition for the last 20 years.

The Council Mayor, however reiterated on the need for the participants representing their various Schools to do their best in coming out in flying colours in the preliminaries to give the winners ample opportunity to represent the Local Government in the grand finale at the State level.

Hon. Olowa stated his commitment to reposition educational standard through the provision of infrastructures and other assistance required of the present Administration.

In the keenly contested spelling sessions of the Primary category, Olamide Dami of Tsangaya Primary School, Orofun got the 1st position while Goodness Abraham of Community Primary School, Adeba and Otiti Ruth of Community Primary School, Oniba Odofin got the 2nd and the 3rd positions respectively.
Also in the Secondary School Category, Wusu Oluwagbenga of Community Secondary School, Orimedu came first while Owolabi Zainab of Ibeju Senior High School and Theodore Victor of Iwerekun High School came 2nd and 3rd positions respectively.

The yearly competition was contested by 23 out of the 26 Primary Schools and 10 out of the 12 Secondary Schools within the Local Council Development Area.

In the same vein, Mayor Olowa, impressed by the performances and brilliancy of the 1st position winner Olowolagbe gave an additional cash gift of the sum of fifty thousand naira (#50,000) while the Leader of the Legislative Arm, Hon. Olayinka Mojeed on behalf of the Legislative Members also gave him the sum of twenty thousand naira (#20,000).
Other winners were also presented with sizeable gifts for their outstanding performances.

At the occasion were the Legislative Chief Whip, Legislative Member representing Ward C1 Hon. Sulaimon Yinusa, Legislative Member representing Ward B, Hon. Tunde Ogungbo, the Council Manager, Engr. (Mrs) Akitoye, the Head of the executing Department, Education, Mr Akeem Adekoya, other Management Members, Representatives of the Lagos State Ministry of Education, LGEA and District 3, Teachers of invited Schools amongst others.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top